REX,Opus,or Active Sky

MS Flight Sim related discussions, problem solving etc

Moderators: Founder, Forum Moderator

Post Reply
User avatar

Topic author
David Higdon
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2009 16:47
Flight Sim: FSX

REX,Opus,or Active Sky

#1

Post by David Higdon » Sun Jun 30, 2013 16:03

Hello everyone. I am currently using the REX weather. I know a lot of you use Active Sky with Rex textures. Been looking at Opus because i believe it incorporates a camera similar to EZDOK? Are any of you currently using Opus? If so, how do you rate it? Would you recommend it or is Active Sky the one I should be looking at?
0 x
Image


Kristoffer Aspen
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 13:42
Flight Sim: FSX
Location: Sweden

Re: REX,Opus,or Active Sky

#2

Post by Kristoffer Aspen » Sun Jun 30, 2013 17:53

Hello!

I would recommend to try FS Global Real Weather, seems to be must accurate for me atleast (living in Sweden).

Also it creates real overcasts etc etc,
http://www.fly2pilots.com/Cms/Ui/Pages/ ... c70aee6034
0 x
Image


Aleksi Laine
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 17:03
Flight Sim: FSX
Location: EFHK

Re: REX,Opus,or Active Sky

#3

Post by Aleksi Laine » Sun Jun 30, 2013 19:17

Hi,

I can only say, that I first tried REX, and then switched to AS2012. I'm not even using REX textures, like some are, since I consider the textures equally good and Active Sky seems to be giving better framerates. I have no experience of Opus nor the FS Global Weather, but at least compared to the Global Weather I would suppose Active Sky has way more features. I've really liked it. But you should look into other options as well, I'm no expert :lol:

Aleksi
0 x
Image


Petr Sach
Posts: 204
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2011 9:21
Flight Sim: FSX

Re: REX,Opus,or Active Sky

#4

Post by Petr Sach » Mon Jul 01, 2013 12:22

Go for Opus . I have it and never would go back to other . Accurate winds ,altitude winds,temperature, clouds is very good as well the best I have ever seen in sim , accurate visibility . I dont use the camera from opus since I have ezdock ,can not judge . The above is just realy good ,all accuratelly to METAR. The support is just the best . they always making new up dates ,fixing bugs and what's more listen to custommers what should be improve and that's what they are doing . In one word " well spent money" However , it's all comes down to user what you are expecting to use it for ? looking for differant weather then real? try something else ,looking for real accurate thing go for opus . The choice is yours . regards Petr
0 x

User avatar

Tom Weber
Posts: 852
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 16:50
Flight Sim: FSX
Location: EDDS / LSZH
Contact:

Re: REX,Opus,or Active Sky

#5

Post by Tom Weber » Mon Jul 01, 2013 16:16

I use REX Texures with OPUS and I am very happy with this. The OPUS cams are fine so I do not use EZCAM anymore - one app less on the machine. I think there is an OPUS trial version. If you use REX textures look at the kostas guide: http://kostasfsworld.wordpress.com/2013 ... onclusion/
Cheers Tom
0 x
Image

User avatar

Topic author
David Higdon
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2009 16:47
Flight Sim: FSX

Re: REX,Opus,or Active Sky

#6

Post by David Higdon » Tue Jul 02, 2013 11:01

Thanks for the opinions . I don't have EZDOK ,and since Opus has similar camera,accurate weather I'll try the demo.
0 x
Image


Mike Sharpe
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 15:00
Flight Sim: FSX
Location: Australia

Re: REX,Opus,or Active Sky

#7

Post by Mike Sharpe » Mon Jul 08, 2013 15:28

Hi,

I use REX essentials with great results . I turn off the weather feed option and use another external program called "FSrealWX" for my weather conditions to set the weather inside the simulator to the matching real weather conditions for that part of the world I'm flying in.
The program is freeware and with a little tweaking it has great success in matching real world weather conditions. Rex textures are still used within FSX.
http://www.hanse-coders.net/index.php?page=self&id=1

Mike.
0 x
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
I7-2600K O'C 4.5 GHZ - Nvidia GTX 680 - 8 G DDR3 - OCZ Max IOPS SSD - Win 7 x64

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest